Secondary source research- books and journals

After visiting the library today, I was able to broaden my understanding of the technical details of existing features of buildings- such as staircases:

This is particularly helpful to me as I have recently been considering the use of staircases as multipurpose seating- initially influenced by the ‘social seating’ which is currently in existence, at Crescent. This is something which I suggested to on a recent design board:

img_7235.jpg

and I would now like to further my research into staircases which double as social seating.  From looking at this book, I not only saw the different designs of modern staircases and how they can be used as a minimalist feature within a space, I have also researched how stairs are technically designed and the different uses for them.

Leave a Reply

