Photoshopping backgrounds onto final designs

For my final design sheets, Helen highlighted to me the importance of showing my designs in their intended location. Specifically for me, this was exciting as it would add a realistic edge to my images which is something that I have been seeking throughout this designing process. By doing this, I have found that my ideas and designs have become something tangible as I live at Crescent, meaning I have been looking at the same unchanged spaces for a year, which are now being edited and enhanced with my own ideas. Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 23.36.17Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 23.36.05Using Google sketch up to add my photoshopped image onto the back panel of the balcony- in an effort for the ‘glass’ to appear transparent.Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 23.44.46Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 23.48.30Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 02.19.41Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 02.42.07.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 20.49.24.pngHere, I used multiple techniques, such as the grass tool, along with adding shadows, figures and re-cladding the wall in order to reach a finished image which I am happy with.

What I have found most difficult about this process of digitally editing designs onto an existing space is ensuring that the perspective and scale is correct- as I am adding the designs to real life pictures (which cannot have a varied perspective).

I feel that I have done this to a standard which I am happy with, as it appears to clearly convey the image which I am seeking to explain- of showing the designs in their intended setting whilst also showing scale and possible uses.

Leave a Reply

