Constructing the pavilion- altering the original design and peer feedback 

My original design for the pavilion was a fairly optimistic concept which, on paper, could have been done effectively, if measured with significant accuracy. The original concept that I was planning to make the model follow was based around a counterbalancing of each layer of the pavilion. I initially chose to make a modular and layered pavilion, as this would provide shade and shelter from more than one side, optimising the possible users.

Once I had laser cut all the pieces (all of which were done in sets of 2 to provide the contemporary aesthetic, as well as the suggestion of thickness of material), I began to join them together and discovered that attempting to counterbalance each layer was too laborious and would not have provided an effect which would have justified the measurements and effort put into the construction.  Instead, I followed the overall shape of my original design and laid the layers up, using my personal preference as guidance of how the overall model should look (whilst still retaining an awareness for the size of the users and the different possibilities of seating on the form). 

Using the solvent liquid superglue, I attached the small laser cut pieces at a 45 degree angle on the corners of each piece. This is something that I had previously planned to do as I knew that it would create the support needed between each layer, whilst also spacing the sheets and creating shadows and thickness on the model. On the base piece of the pavilion (the largest sheet), I added a 5th small block to prevent the pressure of all the above pieces from inflicting too much strain on the base sheets. If this had not been done, the base sheet would have caved in and shattered. 

In order to prevent pressure on the pieces whilst they were being stuck together, I glued the layers together in different sections in order to reduce strain and risk of shattering, 

When I finally joined the pieces together, I remained aware of the overhang of each piece, to show a consideration for shelter as well as making sure the structure would balance and stay up over the whole exhibition time (even if it were to be knocked or moved).

Overall, I am very happy with the finished product as it is of a larger scale than my other models, whilst still being realistic and conveys my concept effectively. If I were to create or design this model again, I would use perspex which was thinner as it would have reduced the overall weight of the model, reducing the risk of strain and instability of the form. I was most happy with the tinted grey perspex as it created shadows, as well as a density of form which makes the model look more professional. For exhibition, I would like to display this model at eye height, so as to enable the observer to ‘look through’ it and see the different possibilities of seating for the pavilion.

Leave a Reply

